If you have had your driving privileges and driver’s license suspended in the state of Texas, there are certain requirements you will have to meet in order to have your license reinstated.

Your license can be legally suspended or revoked in Texas for the following reasons:

*You are evaluated as being medically unable to drive

*Driving/boating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol

*You have committed multiple traffic violations

*You had no insurance despite being involved in an accident that resulted in injury, death, or approximately $1,000 in property damage

If your license has been suspended, you will receive an official enforcement notification by mail from the Texas Department of Public Safety. Depending on the offense that has been committed, the length of the suspension varies. For instance, being convicted of a DWI can result in the following regarding license suspension:

*Suspension for up to two years if you are aged 21 or older

*Up to one year if you are under 21 years of age

*An additional 180 days if you fail to complete an Alcohol Education Program

*90 days if you must complete community service and have an interlock ignition device installed in your vehicle

*Failing to submit to either a blood or breath test

Suspension of your license can also occur under the Administrative License Revocation Program. This means that if you fail either a breath or blood test or if you refuse to submit to one upon being pulled over, the officer can legally take your license and issue you a 40-day temporary driving permit. You will be able to challenge something like this, provided you do so within 15 days from your arrest. Failure to request a hearing will result in your license being suspended after the 40-day period has expired. Under the guidelines of the ALR Program, your license could be suspended anywhere from 90 days to two years.

Drug or substance offenses will see your license suspended for 180 days; however, it’s important to note that other violations and offenses could carry different terms of suspension. Additionally, driving while suspended can result in you receiving a further suspension for the same duration as your current one.

A hearing can be requested within 20 days of your license being suspended in order to contest the situation. If requested in time, you will be mailed a letter that contains the date, time, and location of the hearing. Likewise, a denial notice will be mailed to you if a hearing is not requested. Also note that the request can take up to 120 days to both process and schedule.

Hearings that have resulted in a decision can be appealed within 30 days of receiving the hearing suspension letter. If the appeal is approved, your license suspension will be removed for 90 days. You must then submit a certified copy of the decision of the court to Texas DPS.

In order to reinstate your license, you will need to provide the following information:

*Driver’s license number

*Birth date

*Last four digits of your Social Security number

*Payment for the reinstatement fee

*Any court fees

*Any required suspension compliance documentation

*SR22 form

Thank you for visiting the Jet Law Firm blog, an Austin criminal defense attorney. We write to inform locals about traffic citation laws in Austin.