Austin Attorneys for Assault Charges
Searching for Austin attorneys for assault charges? Individuals who have been charged with either assault or aggravated assault in the state of Texas should always work as quickly as possibly to secure the proper representation in order to ensure that their side of the story can be heard. If either you or someone that you know happens to be going through this type of situation, it’s important to bear in mind that you aren’t alone and that you also have every right to be anxious about what could potentially happen in the near future.
Hiring the right attorney who specializes in assault cases can help you not only get some or all of your charges reduced, but there’s also the distinct possibility that all of your charges could end up getting dismissed as well.
But what exactly qualifies as an assault crime in the state of Texas? The best way to answer this question is that assault crimes can vary, as they can range from inappropriate touching to assault with a deadly weapon, both of which are separate classes of felonies.
Generally defined, assault does not necessarily meant hat someone has to physically put their hands on someone – something as simple as a threat can be serious enough to be considered assault. In fact, Texas code Chapter 22 Assaultive Offenses, sec. 22.01 clearly specifies in detail that an assault “requires intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly threatening, causing physical contact, or bodily injury to another person.” Meanwhile, sec. 22.02 states in detail that aggravated assault, which involves the use of weapons, is an act that can cause serious injury to a victim.
If you are charged with aggravated assault, it’s likely that you are facing one of three different charges:
- Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon
- Aggravated assault with serious bodily injury
- Aggravated sexual assault
A charge of aggravated assault is extremely serious in nature, as even a Class A charge can result in you being sentenced to a year in jail, as well as a $4,000 fine. In terms of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, this charge can come about even if the suspect didn’t have a weapon in hand at the time of the assault. A weapon simply has to be in their possession at the time of the incident. Aggravated assault with serious bodily injury is a situation that can result in the death, near-death, or disability of a victim. Both this and a deadly weapon assault are considered to be second degree felonies, and can result in a sentence of 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Perhaps the most common thing regarding assault crimes is that there is always a victim at one or more witnesses to what occurred, and oftentimes, the only witness is the actual victim. Obtaining statements as soon as possible is incredibly important, as if they decide to change their story later on, their credibility will end up getting questioned while they’re testifying against the accused suspect.
If you have been accused of committing an assault regardless of where you live in Texas, employing the services of an experienced attorney will result in them being able to sift through all of the circumstances that led to the accusation and charges against you.